Galaxy-San Diego Loyal tops US Open Cup third-round draw

The 2022 US Open Cup third round draw is set.

Friday’s draw saw 17 lower-ranked MLS teams enter the competition, joining 31 winners who advanced from this week’s second-round results. The third-round schedule will take place April 19-20 and will feature plenty of in-state rivalries.

Landon Donovan’s San Diego Loyal has the biggest test, taking on Donovan’s former team the LA Galaxy at Dignity Health Sports Park. The All-California showdown will mark one of 10 matchups that will pit MLS clubs against USL Championship opposition.

All three Texas-based MLS clubs will face USL Championship sides as FC Dallas hosts FC Tulsa, Austin FC visits San Antonio FC and Rio Grande Valley FC Toros take on Houston Dynamo.

FC Cincinnati, Columbus Crew, Inter Miami, Orlando City and New York Red Bulls will also face USL Championship opponents.

Earthquakes San Jose and DC United will have to avoid falling to lower league opposition, taking on clubs from the National Independent Soccer Association. DC United visits New York-based Flower City Union, while San Jose Earthquakes host Bay Cities FC.

Here’s a full rundown of the third round matches:


  • Flower City Union vs. DC United
  • Rochester New York FC vs Motown FC
  • Hartford Athletic vs. New York Red Bulls


  • Richmond Kickers vs. North Carolina Fusion U-23
  • Greenville Triumph SC vs. Charlotte FC

South East

  • Birmingham Legion FC v South Georgia Tormenta FC
  • Atlanta United vs. Chattanooga FC


  • Miami FC vs. Inter Miami
  • Orlando City vs. Tampa Bay Rowdies


  • FC Cincinnati vs. Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC
  • Detroit City FC vs. Columbus Crew


  • Chicago Fire vs. Union Omaha
  • Forward Madison FC vs. Minnesota United
  • Louisville City FC vs. St. Louis City SC 2


  • FC Dallas vs FC Tulsa
  • Houston Dynamo vs. Rio Grande Valley FC Toros
  • San Antonio FC vs. Austin FC


  • Real Salt Lake vs. Northern Colorado Hailstorm FC
  • Phoenix Rising FC vs. New Mexico United

Northern California

  • San Jose Earthquakes vs. Bay Cities FC
  • Sacramento Republic FC vs. Central Valley Fuego FC

Southern California

  • FC Tucson vs. California United Strikers FC
  • LA Galaxy vs. San Diego Loyalty SC
  • LAFC vs. Orange County SC